Denali National Park Quarter

At the end of 2008, Congress passed the “America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008”. The Act became the basis of the United States Mint America the Beautiful Quarters Program. Beginning in 2010, quarters featuring national parks and other sites were printed by the US Mint. The quarters feature sites from each of the 50 states, as well as Washginton D.C. and the US Territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, United States Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

The first round of printing in 2010 brought us Arkansas’ Hot Springs National Park, Wyoming’s Yellowstone National Park, California’s Yosemite National Park, Arizona’s Grand Canyon National Park, and Oregon’s Mount Hood National Forest.

In 2011, quarters for Pennsylvania (Gettysburg National Military Park), Montana (Glacier National Park), Washington (Olympic National Park), Mississippi (Vicksburg National Military Park), and Oklahoma (Chicksaw National Recreation Area) were released.
Finally, 2012 brings us El Yunque National Forest (Puerto Rico), Chaco Culture National Historical Park (New Mexico), Acadia National Park (Maine), Volcanoes National Park (Hawaii), and most importantly:
Denali National Park Quarter

Denali National Park (Alaska)

The quarter was beautifully designed by Susan Gamble and sculpted by Jim Licaretz.

The program will continue with five quarters per year through the year 2021.

What do you think? Does the quarter capture your national site?

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply